13 Roughriders Named To All-WBL Team

St. Marys' Sean Perry was named a first-team running back in the Western Buckeye League on Sunday.
Staff Writer

Thirteen St. Marys players were named to the All-Western Buckeye League team, which was released Sunday evening.

Eight players made first-team honors on offense and defense, center Mitch Seewer, guard Ian Young, running back/defensive back Sean Perry, tackle Nick Myers, defensive back Carter Ballweg, defensive end Blake Kanorr, defensive tackle Braden Wietholter and linebacker Eddie Fowler.

Jason Taylor was the lone Roughrider to earn second-team honors as a defensive tackle and four Riders made honorable mention in Braeden Dunlap (QB/DB), Ty Howell (RB/DB) Keegan Sawmiller (LB) and Gabe Vandever (K).

Perry was named as the WBL’s Defensive Back of the Year and Kanorr was named the Defensive Lineman of the Year — marking the third straight year a St. Marys player has earned such an honor.
Perry — who gashed Van Wert for 223 yards and four touchdowns in Saturday’s Division IV, Region 14 semifinal — ended the regular season with 1,146 yards — second-most rushing yards in the WBL — on 139 carries and nine touchdowns as well as four catches for 71 yards and one touchdown as a receiver. He also finished with the most all-purpose yards in the league with 1,632 yards. On defense, Perry has the third-most tackles in the WBL with 122, two interceptions and tied for a league-best three fumble recoveries.

As a returner, Perry tied the school record for most punt returns for a touchdown in a season with three this year. He has 278 return yards on eight returns for a 34.8-yard average.

In his first season as a varsity starter, Ballweg has taken advantage of every minute with his school record 10 interceptions. During the regular season, Ballweg had eight picks to go along with 39 tackles and two interceptions returned for a touchdowns. Including the playoffs, Ballweg has three pick-sixes.

Kanorr tallied 104 tackles in the regular season — most by a defensive lineman in the league — to lead the defensive line, with one interceptions and two fumble recoveries.

In his first varsity season as a starter at linebacker, Fowler leads the team and the WBL with 133 tackles and has one interception. Wietholter has 41 tackles and two fumble recoveries, while Taylor tallied 79 tackles and one fumble recovery. Those players helped lead the league’s second-best rushing attack in the league, allowing 114.7 yards per game and tied for a league-low eight touchdowns.

Seewer, Myers and Young each led the Roughriders to the top rushing attack in the league at 306 yard per game and a league-best 42 touchdowns.

Dunlap racked up 53 tackles and three interceptions on defense and finished with 397 yards on 82 carries with a team-high 16 touchdowns. Howell tallied 56 tackles and recorded one interception as a defensive back and rushed for 373 yards on 41 carries and five scores in the backfield. As a returner, Howell has amassed 227 kick return yards on seven returns (32.4 yards per return) and one touchdown. Sawmiller finished with 102 tackles as a middle and outside linebacker this season.

Vandever is 3-for-6 on field goals and 50-of-51 on extra point attempts.

All statistics are based on the regular season and does not include postseason play because the players were selected based on regular-season performances.

The Roughriders won a share of the WBL title this season — along with Wapakoneta. Doug Frye and Wapakoneta’s Travis Moyer were the league’s co-coaches of the year.