16 Roughriders Named To All-WBL Team

The St. Marys Roughriders football team had 16 players earn All-Western Buckeye League honors.
Sports Editor

A number of St. Marys Roughriders were awarded spots on this year's All-Western Buckeye League team as the league announced it Thursday morning.

Sixteen to be exact.


Nine Roughriders (10-1, 8-1 WBL) made the league's first-team with seven more making second-team and honorable mention spots.


Due to the timing of the announcement, a story on St. Marys' All-WBL team will be in Friday's print edition of The Evening Leader.


Three offensive linemen made first-team for the Roughriders in center Jonathan Peterson, Joey Morlino and Garrett Lauth, paving the way for an offense that racked up 4,125 total yards of offense and averaged 375 yards per game.

The senior Morlino earned All-WBL Offensive Lineman of the Year.


At the skill positions, senior running back Eric Spicer — third in rushing all-time in school history with 3,363 yards — earned All-WBL First-Team and All-WBL Offensive Back of the Year with 1,178 yards in the ground on 154 carries (7.6 yards per carry) and 11 touchdowns in the regular season. He was averaging a league-best 117.8 yards per game in 2016. 


On defense, Dustin Howell earned First-Team All-WBL honors with a secondary-best 71 tackles for a unit that allowed just 54.1 passing yards per game.


Seniors Matt Patten (78 tackles, two fumble recoveries) and Austin Giesige (team-high 92 tackles and two fumble recoveries) and junior Reed Aller (44 tackles) earned First-Team All-WBL as well.

Patten also earned All-WBL Defensive Linemen of the Year.


Those three players were an intricate part of a Roughriders' defense that was tops in the league in rushing yards allowed in the regular season (72.9 ypg) and scoring defense (9.3 ppg).


Senior Julius Fisher was named Defensive Flex Player of the Year with his 44 tackles and one interception in the regular season.


Tight end Seth Vorhees was named to the All-WBL Second-Team with his team-leading 15 catches for 157 yards and two scores on the season.

Spicer earned second-team as a defensive back (24 tackles and three interceptions), and seniors William Bayham (64 tackles) and Grant Keith (88 tackles, two interceptions and one fumble recovery) also earned second-team.


Four Roughriders were named to the All-WBL Honorable Mention list in Drew Jacobs at defensive back (45 tackles, two interceptions), defensive linemen TJ Mele (41 tackles), linebacker Jackson Harris (88 tackles) and offensive lineman Aaron McGraw.


St. Marys coach Doug Frye was one of three coaches who were named to the All-WBL Coach of the Year along with Wapakoneta's Travis Moyer and Ottawa-Glandorf's Ken Schriner.


The 16 All-WBL player selections for the Roughriders is the most in a season since 2008.