Area Players Named To All-District Teams

Minster Wildcats coach Nann Stechschulte was named the Division IV All-Northwest District Coach of the Year in girls basketball.
From staff reports
Staff Writer


COLUMBUS — The 2016 Associated Press All-Northwest District basketball teams were released Thursday with a number of area players making the list. 


In Division II boys basketball, St. Marys’ junior Derek Jay earned honorable mention. Jay, a 2016 All-Western Buckeye League second-teamer, led the Roughriders with 16.8 points per game on 114 of 250 shooting (45.6 percent) from the field, and led St. Marys in rebounds per game with 5.7 this past season. Jay also racked up 31 assists and 12 steals.


In Division IV boys basketball, New Knoxville’s Logan Leffel was named honorable mention, as well as Minster’s Josh Nixon. 

Nixon and Leffel both earned Midwest Athletic Conference first-team honors for the 2015-2016 season.


Leffel scored 377 total points on the season, averaging 17 points per game, which was the third-best clip in the conference. He was also the top free throw shooter in the MAC with an 81.5 shooting percentage and led the team with 58 assists.


Nixon led the Wildcats with 34 steals on the season, fifth best in the conference, and he also shot 33.8 percent from beyond the arc.

Erika Angstmann made the list as honorable mention for the Division II girls basketball team.


Angstmann — a 2016 All-WBL second-teamer — was second on the team in points per game with 11.2 and second on the team in made 3-pointers (33) and averaged 6.0 rebounds per game. She finished her basketball career in the top-10 in points scored all-time in St. Marys’ history.


MAC Player of the Year Paige Jones earned second team in the Division IV girls basketball All-District team.

The sophomore averaged 11.7 points per game this season with 58 assists and 18 blocks on the season.


Paige also had a 31 percent rate at the 3-point line, making 37 of 118 on the season. Minster’s Rosie Westerbeck earned third team honors, she ended the regular season as an 81 percent free throw shooter and ninth in the conference with 50 assists.


Minster’s Courtney Prenger, New Knoxville’s Kenzie Schroer and Rachel Leffel and New Bremen’s Debbie Paul all earned honorable mention.


Prenger finished the regular season with 146 rebounds and she had the best field goal percentage in the MAC with 54.3 percent. She is also an 81 percent free throw shooter and led the team with 33 blocks.

Schroer scored 11.5 ppg and was the top free throw shooter with an 83 percent conversion rate. 


Paul averaged 11.45 ppg and grabbed 173 rebounds in the regular season. She also had 45 steals on the season, ranking her sixth in the MAC.

Minster’s Nann Stechschulte earned Coach of the Year honors. She directed her Wildcats team to a 18-4 regular season mark, finishing 9-0 in the MAC and coming away with a conference title this season.


The Wildcats made it to the Division IV regional semifinal, ending their season at 21-5.