Area swimmers punch tickets for district meet


LIMA — St. Marys’ Madison Taylor, Molly Menker and Jared Deubler along with Minster’s Nikki Borgerding and Kara Kitzmiller all were crowned sectional champions as the Roughriders, and Wildcats along with New Bremen are sending swimmers to the district meet at Cleveland State after top finishes at Saturday’s Division II sectional at the Lima YMCA.

ST. MARYS: St. Marys junior Madison Taylor captured the sectional title with a 359.95 score and will compete at the Oak Harbor district diving competition on Wednesday, Feb. 12.

St. Marys junior Molly Menker qualified for the district tournament in the 200 freestyle with a sectional title-winning 2:03.08 time along with a spot in the 100 freestyle with a second-place finish and 56.57-second time.

Roughrider senior Jared Deubler won a sectional title on Saturday in the boys 100 backstroke with a 54.79-second time. The next closes swimmer was nearly seven seconds behind him. Deubler  will also compete in the 100 free style after turning in a 51.96-second time and sixth-place finish at the sectional.

St. Marys senior Dakota Braun finished second with a 1:00.87 time and qualified for the district meet in the 100 butterfly.

The St. Marys boys 200 medley relay team of Deubler, Riley Niekamp, Braun and Caleb Westerfield punched its ticket for the district with a 1:54.16 time.

St. Marys freshman T.J. Mele qualifed for the district in the boys diving competition with a 317.2 score.

MINSTER: Minster junior Nikki Borgerding won the sectional title and had the district’s second-best qualifying time in the 200 individual medley with a 2:18.73 pace. Borgerding also finished second and had the third-best qualifying time in the district with a 1:10.17 time in the 100 breaststroke.

Minster senior Kara Kitzmiller won the sectional title in the 100 backstroke and to move on with a 1:04.75 time. Kitzmiller finished fifth in the 100 butterfly with a 1:05.62 time to qualify for the district.

Minster’s girls 200 freestyle relay team (1:48.91) of Erica Oldiges, Leah Niekamp, Carly Barhorst and Julia Slonkosky, the 400 freestyle (3:59.06)  of Slonkosky, Oldiges, Kitzmiller and Borgerding and the 200 medley relay team of Borgerding, Kitzmiller, Cassie Jutte and Niekamp (2:00.06) all qualified for the district tournament.

Minster sophomore Pierce McGowan has qualified for the district in the boys 500 freestyle with a 5:44.16 time. Minster freshman Aaron Kitzmiller qualified in the boys 100 backstroke (1:07.57).

NEW BREMEN: New Bremen junior Stephanie Brandt (26.73) and sophomore Devon Heitkamp (26.85) both qualified for the district in the girls 50 freestyle with sixth and seventh place finishes, respectively.

The New Bremen girls 200 freestyle relay team (1:48.36) of Julia Niekamp, Brandt, Makenna Brackman and Heitkamp, the 400 free relay team (4:06.19) of Brackman, Aly Elking, Brandt and Heitkamp and the 200 medley relay team (2:02.59) of Brandt, Niekamp, Heitkamp and Brackman are headed to the district competition.