Champions Tie In Blindfolded Checkers Game

“Leader Look Back” is a collection of stories and headlines from 75, 50 and 25 years ago this week. This week’s edition examines stories from Feb. 26 to March 4, 1938, 1963 and 1988.

75 years ago: Cridersville won the Auglaize County Class B Tournament title by defeating Buckland 39-36.

Two St. Marys residents were fined $25 for stealing from Nickel Plate Railway.

The St. Marys Roughriders were eliminated from tournament play in a 29-11 loss to Lima South.

A St. Marys boy was arrested in Cincinnati for raising checks. He also admitted to stealing chickens from a family members who was a poultry farmer.

Auglaize County Sheriff William Nieter confiscated two auto load gambling devices in separate raids.

Charles Keller, of St. Marys, played champion blindfolded checkers player Newell W. Banks to a draw during an exhibition match.

50 years ago: Members of the Minster Board of Education accepted bids for the sale of $875,000 in school bonds so the board could secure real estate for a new high school.

Roughriders Tom Walter, Denny Krauss and Denny Brown were named as honorable mentions to the All-WBL Boys Basketball team.

The New Knoxville Rangers upset the New Bremen Cardinals 63-55 in the Auglaize County Class A Basketball tournament.

The region battled rising flood waters as 1.62 inches of rain fell. Melting snow, coupled with the rain, caused the St. Marys River and Miami and Erie Canal to pour out of the banks.

Waynesfield defeated New Knoxville 46-30 to win the Auglaize County Class A Basketball tournament. The win moved Waynesfield to 21-0 on the season.

25 years ago: The St. Marys Roughriders ended the regular season with a 58-48 win over Parkway to even their record at 10-10.

School officials broke ground at H.H. Cook Gymnasium.

St. Marys grapplers Dave Weilbacher, Tony Nieter and Todd Bowman advanced to the district wrestling tournament.

Former New Knoxville Ranger and ONU standout Stan Reineke was named to the All-OAC team.

A bomb scare canceled classes at the Lake Campus. Law enforcement was called to the scene but no bomb was found during a search.

Six Roughriders — Troy Crouch, Mike Dietz, Mike Trogdlon, Kerri Goodwin, Mary Ann Burden and Stephanie Gudorf — earned All-WBL honors.

Wapakoneta Redskin David Fisher took home the Leaderland scoring title with an 18.1 points per game average.