Four Roughriders Named To All-Ohio Football

Four St. Marys Roughriders — including Joey Morlino and Eric Spcier — were named to the All-Ohio Football Team on Tuesday night for their 2016 season that saw a regional runner-up finish.
Sports Editor


Four St. Marys Roughriders made the All-Ohio Football list, which was announced Tuesday night for Divisions III and IV.


Earning second-team accolades for their accomplishments on the field during the 2016 season was offensive linemen Joey Morlino and defensive end Matt Patten.

Running back Eric Spicer earned Third-Team All-Ohio honors and Dustin Howell was named All-Ohio Honorable Mention. 


Spicer — finishing his Roughrider career third in rushing all-time in school history with 3,644 yards — also earned All-Western Buckeye League First-Team, All-WBL Offensive Back of the Year and First-Team All-Associated Press Northwest District as well — finished 2016 with 1,510 yards on the ground on 183 carries (8.3 yards per carry) and 14 touchdowns through 13 games this season.


Morlino — who was also named Offensive Lineman of the Year in the WBL as well as First-Team All-Northwest District — was a part of an offensive line that paved the way for an offense that racked up 4,590 total yards of offense and averaged 353 yards per game during the Roughriders' 13-game season. 


Patten — who also earned All-WBL Defensive Linemen of the Year and First-Team All-Northwest Ohio earlier this month — recorded 98 tackles and two fumble recoveries. 

Patten was an intricate part of a Roughriders’ defense that were tops in the league in rushing yards allowed in the regular season (72.9 ypg) and scoring defense (9.3 ppg).

Howell had a secondary-best 97 tackles for a unit that allowed just 54.1 passing yards per game in the regular season. Howell was also named to the All-WBL and All-Northwest Ohio First-Team earlier this month.


The Roughriders are coming off their best season since their state runner-up finish in 2004. In 2016, St. Marys won a share of the WBL title for the first time since 2008 and earned a playoff berth for the first time since that same year.


The Riders defeated Dayton Belmont in the opening round of the Division III postseason, also earning the first postseason win at Skip Baughman Stadium in the program's history.

St. Marys also defeated top-ranked Franklin in Region 12 in a regional semifinal, before falling to seven-time regional champion Trotwood-Madison in a regional final to finish as regional runner-up.


The Rams — who defeated Toledo Central Catholic last week in a state semifinal, will vy for its first state championship since 2011 on Saturday at Ohio Stadium against Akron Archbishop Hoban.