Minster's Jared Huelsman Named MAC's Offensive POY

Sports Editor


Quarterback Jared Huelsman has been named as the Midwest Athletic Conference's Offensive Player of the Year as the conference announced its All-MAC teams on Friday morning. 


The first-year signal caller finished the regular season playing all 10 games for the playoff-bound Minster Wildcats (6-4) with 1,598 yards as a passer, completing 111 of 209 passes, 15 touchdowns and four interceptions. He completed 53.1 percent of his passes.


As a rusher, the junior Huelsman led the team with 1,069 yards on the ground on 209 carries, averaging 4.8 yards per carry and scoring 12 times.

Huelsman also earned second-team honors as an outside linebacker with 35.5 tackles, 7.5 tackles for a loss, .5 a sack and an interception.


Minster senior wide receiver Jonathan Niemeyer was named to the All-MAC First-Team. He racked up 48 catches for 940 yards (19.6 yards per reception) and 10 touchdowns. He was averaging 94 yards per game.


Senior running back Bryce Schmieising also earned First-Team recognition with his 888 yards on 116 carries (7.4 average) and 11 touchdowns.

Issac Dorsten claimed All-MAC First-Team as a tackle.


Jack Heitbrink (29.5 tackles, four sacks), Alex Oldiges (19.5 tackles, 6.5 tackles for loss, two sacks) and Isaac Schmiesing (15 catches, 176 yards, one touchdown; 61 tackles) each earned Honorable Mention.


Logan Dicke led the New Bremen Cardinals with a All-MAC Second Team honors at guard as well as Max Messick at interior lineman on defense.

Brandon Heitkamp and Jake Hemelgarn (62 carries, 495 yards, one touchdown) both earned Honorable Mention.


Coldwater's head coach Chip Otten and Marion Local's coach Tim Goodwin were both named the MAC's Coach of the Year and Marion Local's Jack Homan was named the MAC's Defensive Player of the Year.