Soccer Players Named To All-District Team

St. Marys' senior Bailey Fenwick-Miller was named Second-Team All-District and will compete in the NOSSCA's 14th annual senior All-District games on Nov. 15 in Findlay
Sports Editor

The Northwest Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association announced its 2016 Northwest Ohio All-District, with a handful of St. Marys Roughriders making the list.

Junior Austin Wilker led the Roughriders (13- 2-2, 7-2-0 WBL) boys’ team as a First-Team All-District player with his two goals and a team-high 15 assists on the season. St. Marys’ top scorer, Dylan Engel was also named to the All-District’s First-Team. Engel recorded a team-best 11 goals as well as six assists.

Defenseman Adam Vogel garnered second-team honors. He recorded two assists, but also a main cog in the Roughriders’ defense that produced six shutouts.

Howie Spencer was named to honorable mention with his one assist on the season. Brennen Piper was named the All-District Player of the Year in Division II for the state finalist Celina Bulldogs. New Knoxville’s Jonah Lageman earned Division II All-District Honorable Mention.

In girls’ soccer, goalkeeper Bailey Fenwick Miller was the lone Roughrider to earn Second-Team All-District honors with 76 saves for St. Marys (5-7-4, 3-2-4 WBL) on the season.

Junior forwards Sydney Cisco and Josie Bowman and freshman Ally Will each earned All-District Honorable Mention in Division II girls.

Cisco was the second-best scorer for the Roughriders with six goals, tied with freshman Emma Wibbeler, and seven assists. Will — one of three starting freshman for coach Seth Hertenstein’s team this fall — scored three goals and tallied two assists, but also received honors for her skills on defense. The junior forward Bowman finished as Honorable Mention with nine goals on the year and four assists.

 The NOSSCA will hold the 14th annual senior All-District games on Nov. 15 at Findlay High School’s Graham Field. St. Marys’ Fenwick-Miller will be playing on the White Team. Seniors who have been selected to the 2016 All-District squads will play in these annual season ending matches.

The women’s game will begin at 5 p.m. followed by the men’s game at 7 p.m.