St. Marys Highlights All-NW District Selections

St. Marys' Blake Kanorr was named as the Northwest Ohio District's Co-Lineman of the Year.
Sports Editor

Ten St. Marys Roughriders were named to the All-Northwest Ohio District football team — which was released Wednesday — in Division IV play.

Seven of those 10 players made all-NW District First-Team in center Mitch Seewer, guard Ian Young, kicker Gabe Vandever, defensive ends Blake Kanorr, linebacker Eddie Fowler and defensive backs Sean Perry and Carter Ballweg. Earning second-team honors were tackle Nick Myers and defensive end Braden Weiholter and being named to the honorable mention team was defensive end Jason Taylor.

Perry was also named the district's Defensive Player of the Year and Kanorr was named the Co-Defensive Lineman of the Year along with Clear Fork's Hunter Tollison. 

Perry ended the regular season with 1,146 yards — second-most rushing yards in the Western Buckeye League — on 139 carries and nine touchdowns as well as four catches for 71 yards and one touchdown as a receiver. He also finished with the most all-purpose yards in the league with 1,632 yards. On defense, Perry had the third-most tackles in the WBL with 122, two interceptions and three fumble recoveries.

As a returner, Perry tied the school record for most punt returns for a touchdown in a season with three this year. He has 278 return yards on eight returns for a 34.8-yard average.

In his first season as a varsity starter, Ballweg has taken advantage of every minute of it with his single-season school record 10 interceptions. During the regular season, Ballweg had eight picks to go along with 39 tackles and two interceptions returned for a touchdown. Including the playoffs, Ballweg has three pick-sixes.

Kanorr tallied 104 tackles in the regular season — most by a defensive lineman in the WBL — along with one interceptions and two fumble recoveries. With Kanorr being named the Defensive Lineman of the Year, it marks the third straight season a St. Marys defensive lineman earned the accolade. (Reed Aller in 2017 and Matt Patten in 2016 were the other two).

In his first varsity season as a starter at linebacker, Fowler led the team and the WBL with 133 tackles. He also had one interception in the regular season. Wietholter had 41 tackles and two fumble recoveries, while Taylor tallied 79 tackles, one fumble recovery and an interception. Those players helped lead the league’s second-best rush defense in the league, allowing 114.7 yards per game and tied for a league-low eight touchdowns.

Seewer, Myers and Young each led the Roughriders to the top rushing attack in the WBL at 306 yard per game and a league-best 42 touchdowns.

Vandever was 3-for-6 on field goals and 50-of-51 on extra point attempts.

Kenton's Jaron Sharp was the district's Offensive Player of the Year and Van Wert's Keith Recker was named the district's Coach of the Year.

In Division VII, five Minster players were named to the all-district team and two New Bremen players earned district recognition.

Tight end Cody Frericks, running back Alex Schmitmeyer, linebacker August Boehnlein and defensive back Mike Ketner were each named second-team all-district and offensive lineman Sam Schmiesing grabbed honorable mention.

For the Cardinals, defensive linemen Brandon Heitkamp and Jacob Rindler were named to the district's second-team.

Frericks caught 15 balls, for 215 yards and two scores, while Boehnlein led the team in tackles with 49 to go along with one sack, a team-high 10 tackles for a loss and a forced fumble.

In her first year as a starter, Schmitmeyer rushed for 957 yards on 164 carries and 17 touchdowns — his best game coming in a four-touchdown effort against Covington in week two. Ketner finished with 41.5 tackles, a team-high six interceptions and a fumble recovery.

Heitkamp finished the year with 43 tackles — 35 solo — 5.5 sacks and 11.5 tackles for a loss, while Rindler finished with 42 tackles in 10 games played, 33 solo, 4.5 sacks and 15 tackles for a loss.

All statistics are based on the regular season and does not include postseason play because the players were selected based on regular-season performances.